COMMITTEES

STANDING
COMMITTEES

Tabitha Jackson, Chair – TJackson@insurancedefense.net
Louise St. Laurent, Treasurer –  lstlaurent@panzamaurer.com
Stephen Emmanuel, Immediate Past Chair –  semmanuel@ausley.com

Doug Dolan, Co-Chair – Douglas.Dolan@dms.fl.gov
Joaquin Alvarez, Co-Chair – Joaquin.Alvarez@flofr.gov
Jowanna Oates  – Oates.jowanna@leg.state.fl.us
Megan Silver –  Megan.Silver@dms.fl.gov
Brittany Griffith –  brittanygriffithesq@gmail.com
Judge Cathy Sellers
Judge Brian Newman, Trial Academy Chair

Louise St. Laurent, Co-Chair – lstlaurent@panzamaurer.com
Christina Shideler , Co-Chair – Christina.Shideler@flhealth.gov
Tabitha Jackson – TJackson@insurancedefense.net
Elizabeth M. Fernandez –  Elizabeth.fernandez@swfwmd.state.fl.us
Adrienne E. Vining –  Adrienne.vining@swfwmd.state.fl.us
Judge Gar Chisenhall
Judge Cathy Sellers
Judge Robert Kilbride
Bruce Lamb  – blamb@gunster.com
Marc Ito – marc@itolaw.net

Robert Hosay, Chair  – rhosay@foley.com
Adrienne Vining – Adrienne.vining@swfwmd.state.fl.us

Marc Ito (Chair)
Judge Gar Chisenhall
Judge Brian Newman
Tabitha Jackson –  TJackson@insurancedefense.net
Richard Shoop – Richard.shoop@ahca.myflorida.com

Judge Brian Newman, Chair
Richard Shoop – Richard.shoop@ahca.myflorida.com
Judge Gar Chisenhall

Jowanna Oates, Chair  – Oates.jowanna@leg.state.fl.us
Lyyli Van Whittle – Lyyli.vanwhittle@perc.myflorida.com
Tiffany Rodenberry – Tiffany.roddenberry@hklaw.com
Maria Pecoraro McCorkle – mvpmccorkle@gmail.com

Michael Cooke, Co-Chair – cookem@gtlaw.com

David Konuch, Co-Chair- dkonuch@me.com

Cindy Miller –  milcindy@gmail.com

Brittany Dambly, Chair – Brittany.dambly@dms.myflorida.com
Maria Pecoraro-McCorkle – mccorklem@flcourts.org
Gregg Morton – greggrileymorton@gmail.com

Adrienne Vining, Tampa Co-Chair –  adrienne.vining@swfwmd.state.fl.us
Elizabeth Fernandez, Tampa Co-Chair – Elizabeth.Fernandez@swfwmd.state.fl.us
Mallory Newman – MNeumann@foley.com
Brittany B. Griffith, Tallahassee Co-Chair – brittanygriffithesq@gmail.com
Tabitha Jackson – TJackson@insurancedefense.net
Brittany Dambly – Brittany.dambly@dms.myflorida.com
Johnny Elhachem (Miami) – jelhachem@dvllp.com
Joaquin Alvarez – Joaquin.Alvarez@flofr.gov
Bruce Lamb – blamb@gunster.com

AD HOC
COMMITTEES

Judge Gar Chisenhall, Chair

Angela Morrison – Angela.morrison@earthandwatergroup.com

Megan Silver – Megan.Silver@dms.fl.gov

Gregg Morton – greggrileymorton@gmail.com

Brittany Griffith – brittanygriffithesq@gmail.com

Judge Cathy Sellers

Brittany B. Griffith, Co-Chair –  brittanygriffithesq@gmail.com

Gregg Morton, Co-Chair – greggrileymorton@gmail.com

Lyyli Van Whittle, Co-Chair – lyyli.vanwhittle@perc.myflorida.com

Gigi Rollini – grollini@stearnsweaver.com

Louise St. Laurent – lstlaurent@panzamaurer.com

Marc Ito – marc@itolaw.com

Elizabeth M. Fernandez – Elizabeth.fernandez@swfwmd.state.fl.us

Jowanna Oates – Oates.jowanna@leg.state.fl.us

 

LIAISONS

The Florida Bar – Board of Governors Liaison

Lawrence E. Sellers – Larry.sellers@hklaw.com

The Florida Bar – CLE Committee

Brittany Adams Long – brittany.long@fdc.myflorida.com

Council of Sections

Bruce Lamb – blamb@gunster.com

Gregg Morton – greggrileymorton@gmail.com

Environmental and Land Use Law Section

Hon. Francine Ffolkes

Government Lawyer Section

Brittany Griffith – brittanygriffithesq@gmail.com

Health Law Section

Bruce Lamb – blamb@gunster.com

General Counsel

Labor and Employment Law Section

Hon. Robert Kilbride

Real Property, Probate & Trust Law Section

The Florida Bar – Young Lawyers Division

Joaquin Alvarez – Joaquin.Alvarez@flofr.gov

Animal Law Section

Gregg Morton – greggrileymorton@gmail.com

Appellate Court Rules Committee

Gigi Rollini – grollini@stearnsweaver.com

The Florida Bar – Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Lyyli Van Whittle – Lyyli.vanwhittle@perc.myflorida.com

PROJECTS

Update on Changes to the Uniform Rules of Procedure

An ad hoc committee tasked with reviewing the Uniform Rules of Procedure has submitted recommended changes to the Executive Council of the Administrative Law Section. The recommended changes may be viewed here.

The recommended changes address, among other things: filing by e-mail, new requirements for qualified representatives, contents of the notice of rights, new requirements relating to service of papers, appearances by specifically-named persons, intervention, additional requirements in connection with the duty to confer, a new rule regarding disqualification of the presiding officer, the computation of time, informal proceedings, emergency action and bid protests.

Members of the Committee are: Paul Drake (Reporter), Seann Frazier, Judge Yolonda Green, Judge Elizabeth McArthur, Judge Li Nelson, Shaw Stiller, Judge Dave Watkins and Larry Sellers (Chair).

The Committee’s work included some 13 meetings over 15 months. It benefited greatly from numerous public comments.  The Committee initially solicited suggestions and then developed several drafts that were distributed for comment, including drafts dated June 18, 2019, September 18, 2019, and November 4, 2019, –all of which were posted on the Section web site. Updates on the Committee’s work were provided to the Section’s Executive Council in June and November. The Second Report of the Uniform Rules of Procedure Committee dated November 1 may be viewed here.

Following this second report, the Committee solicited and evaluated additional comments and issued yet another draft for comment, dated January 31, 2020. The Committee received several new comments and issued its recommended changes, dated April 27, 2020. The Committee received several more comments and issued one additional recommended change on March 24, 2021. The comment period is now closed.

If the Executive Council approves the recommended changes, then these will be submitted to the Administration Commission, which has the exclusive authority to propose and adopt changes to the Uniform Rules of Procedure.

The Uniform Rules were last updated in 2013 based on recommendations from the Section. For a summary of these changes, see the April 2013 issue of the ALS newsletter.   As in 2013, any amendments to the Uniform Rules will become effective only if formally proposed and adopted by the Administration Commission in accordance with the rulemaking process in the APA.